China college

Chongqing Medical University

The school was founded in 1956 and was relocated to Chongqing by the Shanghai First Medical College (now Fudan University Shanghai Medical College). The original name was Chongqing Medical University. In 1985, it was renamed Chongqing Medical University. The units authorized to grant master degrees are the first batch of demonstration bases for studying in China approved by the Ministry of Education. In 2015, it became a university jointly established by the Chongqing Municipal People's Government, the National Health Commission (formerly the National Health and Family Planning Commission) and the Ministry of Education. In 2016, it became the first batch of local universities approved by the "Higher School Discipline Innovation and Intelligence Introducing Plan" ("111 Plan") one.

The school consists of the Yuanjiagang campus in Yuzhong District and the Jinyun campus in Chongqing University Town. The total campus area is 2,650 acres, of which the Jinyun campus covers an area of 2,100 acres. The campus environment is beautiful and picturesque.

There are 25,671 full-time students, including 6,529 doctoral and master candidates, 18,587 undergraduates, and 555 international students. The school is qualified to recruit post-doctoral researchers, students from Hong Kong, Macau and Taiwan, and foreign students. The school currently has 7 first-level discipline doctoral degree authorization points, 12 first-level discipline master degree authorization points, 3 doctoral professional degree authorization points, and 10 master professional degree authorization points; 4 national key disciplines and 6 disciplines have entered ESI Top 1% in the world (March 2020, Clarivate Analytics released), 4 first-class disciplines in Chongqing, and 12 municipal key disciplines in Chongqing during the 13th Five-Year Plan period. In the fourth round of subject evaluation by the Degree Center of the Ministry of Education, clinical medicine and other subjects ranked top in the country.

The school has 21 colleges (departments) and a graduate school. Open 35 undergraduate majors. There are 13 national first-class undergraduate professional construction sites and 18 first-class undergraduate professional construction sites in Chongqing. The clinical medicine major has passed the international professional certification of clinical medicine, and the stomatology, nursing, Chinese medicine, and majors have passed the professional certification of the Ministry of Education. Now it has 1 national clinical teaching training demonstration center, 4 national experimental teaching demonstration centers, 4 national quality resource sharing courses, and 3 national quality video public courses. The school has 4,500 teachers (including 3,500 clinical teachers), more than 50 national high-level talents, more than 500 provincial and ministerial talents, and 354 doctoral supervisors.

The school has 44 national, provincial and ministerial research platforms. Among them, there are 5 national platforms such as the State Key Laboratory, the National Engineering Research Center, the National Clinical Medicine Research Center, the Laboratory Animal Center of the National Bioindustry Base, and the National International Science and Technology Cooperation Base; the Ministry of Education Key Laboratory International Cooperation Joint Laboratory, The province and the ministry jointly established collaborative innovation centers, as well as 6 national ministries and commissions such as the National Health Commission Key Laboratory; provincial key laboratories, engineering (technical) research centers, international scientific and technological cooperation bases, clinical medicine research centers, and humanities There are 33 provincial-level platforms including science bases. There are also 7 national-level post-doctoral research mobile stations, as well as the provincial-level "overseas high-level talent innovation and entrepreneurship base" and "academician expert workstation".

The school actively carries out exchanges and cooperation at home and abroad. Established cooperative relations with 53 educational or medical and health institutions in 23 countries and regions in Europe, Asia, North America, and Oceania, including Dartmouth College in the United States, the University of British Columbia in Canada, and University College London in the United Kingdom; The Sino-foreign cooperative education project with the University of Leicester in the United Kingdom has been officially launched. It is the only approved Sino-foreign cooperative education project in clinical medicine in western China, and one of the four Chinese-foreign cooperative education projects for undergraduate clinical medicine in the country. At the same time, it has cooperated with Fudan University and Southwest China. Universities and other "double first-class" construction universities have carried out joint training of long-term medical students.

The school currently has 9 directly affiliated hospitals (5 general hospitals, 1 children's hospital, dental hospital, rehabilitation hospital, and Chinese medicine hospital). The First Affiliated Hospital, Affiliated Children's Hospital, and Second Affiliated Hospital have been selected as one of the top 100 "China's Best Hospitals" for 9 consecutive years (issued by the Institute of Hospital Management of Fudan University), ranking 56th, 58th, and No. respectively in 2019 98 people. The directly affiliated hospitals have a total of 28 national key clinical specialties, with more than 14,100 beds, 12 million outpatient visits per year, and more than 400,000 inpatients per year. In addition, the school has 27 non-directly affiliated hospitals and 18 teaching hospitals located in Chongqing, Chengdu, Xi'an, Shenzhen and other places.